2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

Fund recommendations

3K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  habanerojooz 
#1 ·
I am looking for four or five funds to invest in for the long haul. I’m planning to open a fidelity account and not planning on any active trading. I’ve got about a twenty year timeframe until I may need the money. Over the long haul I would like to average 6-10% returns. I am personally tired of using a “professional” who calls 3-4 times a year recommending a change in strategy. I would rather find a few good funds and live with market fluctuations. Any recommendations would surely be appreciated.

#3 ·
Big mega cap names have done well ... but how much longer will they continue to sell at over valued prices?

SPY - top 50 names make up 50% of the index ...
QQQ - tech heavyweights .... (remember the Dot Com bubble)

#4 ·
I'm no professional at this but on top of my other IRAs I just opened a Roth IRA last month and plan to use these for it. My other Rollover IRAs are what I have been actively trading in stocks. The Roth I want to only check in on it yearly. I have not bought any of these yet as I am still researching and it looks like it's in a downward trend currently. My guess is as long as Trump gets re-elected it will start to go up again. Other more seasoned guys may be able to advise on this.

FBGRX
FDSVX
FOCPX
FTRNX
FTQGX

#6 · (Edited)
......Other more seasoned guys may be able to advise on this.

FBGRX
FDSVX
FOCPX
FTRNX
FTQGX
Go to each of them... and look at the holdings

From a glance they seem to be holding a lot of the same names...

And a 60-80 basis point expense ratio seems high

SPY the s&p index and the QQQ are very cheap compared to them

Bonds aka Fixed income will help for balance ....

Go look at
PBND for bonds
Or
PBUS for large cap stocks
....but look at what it cost to own them (exp ratio)

#8 ·
An amateur speaking here.