Yamaha 4 stroke 2012 Outboard Bogging Issues… ECM? Need Advice! F70AET - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:
Go Back   2CoolFishing > General Interest Forums > Boating Forum
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2020, 10:33 AM   #1
jasonstone
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jan 01 2018
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
jasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateer
Bounce Yamaha 4 stroke 2012 Outboard Bogging Issues… ECM? Need Advice! F70AET

Yamaha 4 stroke 2012 Outboard Bogging Issues… ECM? Need Advice! F70AET

Posting again after a few years. Usually a thread already covers the issue and I can fix it from there. However, this time it’s different.

Here’s the problem: Starts fine, idles fine, revs fine out of gear. Put in FWD or REV and once it gets to around 2500 RPM the engine starts to rhythmically bog down. It’s very precise in how it does it. Like one second rev, one sec bog down. Will not go higher, nor get on plane with any amount of playing I do.

What I’ve done so far:
Obviously suspected fuel first. So, Changed injectors, spark plugs, all fuel lines, all fuel filters (she had a 10 micron water separator pre-filter, the normal filter in the housing before diaphragm pump, the strainer down stream, and the VST filter(all very clean, btw, and no trace of water)), Diaphragm fuel pump, and fuel bulb.

Electrical: Changed spark plugs. Suspected possible bad sensor causing engine to limit RPM so it could limp home, because that’s what it felt like, so changed Temperature sensor and oil pressure sensor.

Nothing changed, so thinking it was still the ECM limiting, started checking sensors:
  • ISC tested good for Ohms and connectivity back to ECM plug
  • Oil pressure sensor tested good for 11.7 volts at connector and connectivity to ECM plug
  • Temperature sensor tested good for volts at connector, resistance across the thermocouple, and connectivity back to ECM plug
  • Knock sensor tested good for resistance and connectivity back to ECM plug
  • Air Temp/Pressure sensor tested good for 5 volts at plug and connectivity back to ECM plug
  • TPS tested good for volts at connector and connectivity back to ECM plug (didn’t test position as I didn’t make a harness)
  • ECM plug itself tested good for resistance to ground and engine key on voltage (12v to ground)

Then got a YDS and things got weird. Please take a look at the pics below. Notably the Temp Sensor. This alarm would never clear or change, even when I plugged the old sensor in, left it unplugged, or put various resistors into the plug itself to simulate the range (tried 100 ohm to 1000 ohm). All stayed the same.

Does this look like a bad ECM to you?

Thank in advance guys!

Jason on WindyTheSailboat
Attached Images
    
jasonstone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2020, 10:46 AM   #2
jasonstone
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jan 01 2018
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
jasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateer
Also:
  • The bogging is consistent and instant. It doesn't matter if the engine was just started, or has been running for an hour. Absolutely no change. It doesn't gradually get better or worse.
  • Pumping the bulb has zero effect.
  • In the service manual it says that the temperature sensor limp doesn't kick in until 20 or so seconds after starting. So, tried WOT before that with same result.
  • Also disabling the oil pressure sensor after starting changed nothing.
  • The needle in the VST looked fine
  • New gas, and sample from tank shows no water.
  • Oil level is good
jasonstone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2020, 12:30 PM   #3
SSST
Registered Users-pm+
 
SSST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 08 2011
Location: Shiner, Tx
Age: 49
Posts: 7,224
Rep Power: 21485616
SSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to PirateSSST has been promoted to Pirate
Throttle postion sensor was what mine was, even though the computer said it was fine. Two dealers were stumped, one finally just starting changing out sensors, and found it was actually not working. 3 months in the shop for a $50 sensor. 2008 Yamaha 115 4 stroke.
SSST is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2020, 02:05 PM   #4
jasonstone
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jan 01 2018
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
jasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateerjasonstone has been promoted to the rank of Privateer
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSST View Post
Throttle postion sensor was what mine was, even though the computer said it was fine. Two dealers were stumped, one finally just starting changing out sensors, and found it was actually not working. 3 months in the shop for a $50 sensor. 2008 Yamaha 115 4 stroke.
Will pick up one, thanks!
jasonstone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2020, 01:02 AM   #5
HoustonTexas
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Nov 26 2020
Posts: 40
Rep Power: 0
HoustonTexas is a Landlubber (+10 to -10)

watch this video
HoustonTexas is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2021, 08:19 AM   #6
RobATX
Registered Users-pm+
 
RobATX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 05 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 45
Posts: 350
Rep Power: 1351940
RobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to Pirate
Did you get the thimble sized filter behind the VST? I don't remember if that's the one you're referring to or not when you say VST filter but I had the exact same problem and that solved my issue.
RobATX is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2021, 08:24 AM   #7
RobATX
Registered Users-pm+
 
RobATX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 05 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 45
Posts: 350
Rep Power: 1351940
RobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to PirateRobATX has been promoted to Pirate
Yamaha stopped using them after 2005 for that reason. The only thing different about mine is I don't remember it being a rhythmic throttling
RobATX is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 2CoolFishing forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2019
© 2013 Noreast Media, LLC | Terms of Service | Contact Us | Advertise