HD antenna for Friendswood - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:
Go Back   2CoolFishing > General Interest Forums > DIY (Do it yourself) forum
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2017, 04:13 PM   #1
gm
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jun 25 2004
Age: 56
Posts: 526
Rep Power: 767570
gm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirate
HD antenna for Friendswood

Read the cutting the cord thread already, and am setting up Firestick soon. For local channels I understand I need an HD antenna. Any experience / recommendations for Friendswood area? Indoor vs. Outdoor? Attic mount?

Thanks,
GM
gm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2017, 02:54 AM   #2
Whitebassfisher
Retired opinionated old fart
 
Whitebassfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 03 2007
Location: Lake Livingston
Age: 65
Posts: 19,614
Rep Power: 21499056
Whitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to PirateWhitebassfisher has been promoted to Pirate
https://www.antennaweb.org/Address

is a good start
Whitebassfisher is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2017, 01:14 PM   #3
andre3k
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Dec 03 2012
Posts: 1,041
Rep Power: 21478442
andre3k has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm View Post
Read the cutting the cord thread already, and am setting up Firestick soon. For local channels I understand I need an HD antenna. Any experience / recommendations for Friendswood area? Indoor vs. Outdoor? Attic mount?

Thanks,
GM
https://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-O.../dp/B0024R4B5C

I've used this one for 4 years. I'm 40 miles north of the antenna farm in Mo City, which is where you'll be pointing your antenna. No issues, great picture, and it survived a lightening strike. Because of that make sure you ground it really well. Most people neglect to do it, just like I did and had to replace most of the electronics in my house.
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2017, 02:30 PM   #4
gm
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jun 25 2004
Age: 56
Posts: 526
Rep Power: 767570
gm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirategm has been promoted to Pirate
Thanks guys.
gm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2017, 04:41 PM   #5
al_carl
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jan 20 2012
Location: Baytown
Posts: 923
Rep Power: 21478642
al_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirateal_carl has been promoted to Pirate
Quote:
Originally Posted by andre3k View Post
http://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-Ou.../dp/B0024R4B5C

I've used this one for 4 years. I'm 40 miles north of the antenna farm in Mo City, which is where you'll be pointing your antenna. No issues, great picture, and it survived a lightening strike. Because of that make sure you ground it really well. Most people neglect to do it, just like I did and had to replace most of the electronics in my house.
Thanks for the link! I'm 37 miles ENE and my signal has degraded over the years as the trees have grown. I've been meaning to buy a new one but keep forgetting.

Just hit "buy" on Amazon but added the lightning surge protector that they recommended to go with it
al_carl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2017, 12:32 AM   #6
manwitaplan
I AM EASTSIDE
 
manwitaplan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 09 2005
Age: 45
Posts: 1,191
Rep Power: 21481143
manwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Piratemanwitaplan has been promoted to Pirate
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm View Post
Thanks guys.
I also live in friendswood. I cut the cord a few years back and I have the 250 miler in the house attic and one in the garage attic. Not sure of the brand.

Works well and I think I get about 64 local channels.

I went with a roku and my wife has the apple tv. Purchased sling tv for 20 a month and no problems.
manwitaplan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 10:56 AM   #7
driftwood
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: May 21 2005
Age: 76
Posts: 268
Rep Power: 1046121
driftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Piratedriftwood has been promoted to Pirate
I'm 33 miles from the antennas and just use an old rabbit ears. I get all the foreign non english channels and channel 2. Ch 8,11, and 13 would come in if I move it outside. I tried antennas from Wally for indoors but they weren't any better than the rabbit.
driftwood is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 2CoolFishing forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 16.67%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2019
© 2013 Noreast Media, LLC | Terms of Service | Contact Us | Advertise