Curing meat: Am I doing this right. - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:
Go Back   2CoolFishing > General Interest Forums > BBQ & Grilling Forum
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 08-30-2018, 07:46 PM   #1
ACC
Registered Users-pm+

ACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to PirateACC has been promoted to Pirate
Curing meat: Am I doing this right.

I’m dry curing a pork loin to make some Canadian bacon. It is my first time doing this. I cut the 7+ lbs. loin in half and placed each half in its own 1 gallon zipper baggie. I placed the baggies in an aluminum pan and put them in the frig set at 37 degrees. When I went to flip the loin halves on day 2 of the cure period, there was a lot of fluid present. The zippers on the baggies had come open and fluid had spilled out into the aluminum pan under the bags. I flipped them and did not try to close the zippers. I did put a piece of Saran wrap over the end of the pan where the ends of the loin pieces were exposed to refrigerator air.

First, I assume that the presence of fluid is normal. Am I correct?

Second, should I swap out a glass pan for the aluminum pan? I read today that I should not have used an aluminum pan because nitrite and aluminum will react with each other.

Third, should I do anything with the fluid? Should I pour it back into the baggies? Should I pour it down the drain?
ACC is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-30-2018, 08:44 PM   #2
bigfishtx
Registered Users-pm+