2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to salt water fishing and I am looking for some new spots to try out. The only spot I have fished is east bay but it is a long run from eagle point. I am looking for something closer. An suggestions would help.

·
Team Grizzly
667 Posts
Dickenson Bayou is pretty good at night also you might want to try moses lake. Right outside eagle point you have todds dump and redfish Island. Hope that helps also try a topspot map.

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
Suggest to read allot of these reports. You will see some patterns. Allot of the success depends on the time of day and the tides, as well as other influences such as moon, temp. and barometric pressure, and of course, bait movement! Granted many reports do not lend to much detail, but at least you got some clues. I know some dynamite spots I have found on my own by studying bottom contours, and also I have learned by buddies and guides. However, these spots will not pan out every time and thats why patterns are important to understand. The best fishing is part luck and allot of understanding the water system that you engage. As for myself at this time, its tough fishing the summer, and the fall/ spring, and even winter is much easier. However, quality fish are caught everyday, and sometimes in very good numbers for our lowly Galveston Bay System. Its not that this place does not hold fish, its just more difficult to tap into unless you learn its ways. Personally this time of year I will fish nights, on structures, with tides moving. I will drive the extra distance to the SLP Pass, and lastly those Berkely Gulp Shrimps are killers, especially when live shrimp is not available!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for the input!!