2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
1,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm kinda new to cooking saltwater trout of any kind, be it specks or sandies, but I have had trout and it's delicious. What's the best way to prepare sand trout? I've been catching quite a few lately and didn't want to freeze them for fear the meat would lose it's integrity.
And is it best to fillet them or leave them whole? I've been filleting the larger ones, but they are awfully boney creatures.
Was thinking about rolling in cornmeal and frying whole like I do rainbow trout, but I don't know if that's acceptable for saltwater species.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Kay:cool:

·
Registered
26,148 Posts
if you have a fryer big enough - go for it. I used to do it all the time when I had access to a restaurant sized fryer. Yummy!

·
Banned
1,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
any other suggestions/recipes?

Specklecatcher, you mean just roll in cornmeal or flour and drop it in the pan like I do the rainbows? Do I need to scale it or not? I never scale the rainbows.

Any other suggestions/recipes for sandies? HELP! I wanna cook the fillets and whole creature tonight.

Kay:cool:

·
Registered
26,148 Posts
I've always scaled and removed the dorsal and anal fins if frying whole.

use whatever regular fish fry you prefer for filets and do the whole fish. I've never tried to fry a whole fish in a skillet, but I guess it could be done. That's why I liked the restaraunt fryers - drop in a whole 2# trout and viola!! Lunch.

If cooking whole, be sure to score the fish along the body, through the filets - before breading. It allows the oil to get to the center of the fish and it won't be as greasy when done.

·
Banned
1,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks SC! I'll do it that way then. There is absolutely NO IFORMATION or RECIPES on the internet for san trout! I've been looking since yesterday. Don't folks eat these fish?