2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Proud Navy Father AND Grandfather
9,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, i need a Planer,belt w/circular sander/scroll saw and plenty of input lol! I know you guy's have tested them all and i don't want to drop a mere fortune as i'm just getting started! Thanks!

Catchy

·
Registered
17,211 Posts
Before you get started count all your fingers. Take a picture of them.:rotfl:

I have no ideal what a good planer would be. I have never had one.

·
El Viejo
23,417 Posts
Catchy...below is a link to a Makita.. I aint got a planer, but looks like the folks that have this unit are VERY pleased with it from reading a few of the 'reviews'... I lean towards the Jet tools, but a quick google says that they cost about twice what the Makita is listed at.. I dunno if they even make a planer, but I've ended up with a lot of Ryobi tools...drill press, etc....and they turn out a good product for the price as well...

Disc sander...all I can say is DON'T buy the small portable one like I got... Piece of krap for all but most basic sanding... Scroll saw...had a Dremel for years and it was great...but sold it to Bobby.. He may make a deal with ya on it...if he ever comes and gets it...LMAO....

http://www.amazon.com/Makita-2012NB-12-Inch-Interna-Lok-Automated/dp/B000051ZOO/ref=pd_cp_hi_3

good luck....jd

·
Registered
5,613 Posts
For most work something like the Delta, Ridgid or Ryobi portable planers will be all you'll need. If/when you get really serious you may want to step up to a larger 'stand' model. Lots of good reviews on the above.
Belt/disc sander -- something like this Rikon might be a good starter http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2080326/29075/Rikon-4-x-36-BeltDisc-Sander-Model-50-110.aspx
If you get serious about woodworking you'll probably outgrow this one pretty quickly so you may want to go with something larger to start -- maybe 6" belt and 9" disc.

Good luck and enjoy......and keep the checkbook handy.......lol

·