2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just joined my local volunteer fire dept. I was wondering what other fire depts do such as ( food drives,toys for tots, ect.) There doesnt seen to be much going on at mine, any ideals? There has to be tons of things to do however I am new to this and dont know where to start.

·
Registered
4,049 Posts
Been a volunteer and professional firefighter for over 20 years and usually those type of drives are started when an individual has the gumption to get the program started. Such as doing the research on costs, finding people to help, contacting and interacting with the agencies that the event is for, etc. Many times those agencies have respresentative's that are in charge of fund raisers and will provide you with information and materials needed for the benefit free of cost.

Then you should present the idea to the members at their monthly business meeting in a nice presentation and have the data available for all to see and have your proverbial T's crossed and I's dotted. Might also have the representative for the charity organization be there to help present it.

Some of the best fire department traditions (Toys for tots, smoke detector give aways, Tot finder stickers for windows, the MDA fill the boot for Jerry's kids, Etc.)have been started by an individual with and idea and the gumption to make it happen. Good Luck and it's people like you that lake things happen!!

·
Super Moderator
3,740 Posts
Congratulations on your wise choice of past times...it takes a special person to do what you are doing and I wish you a long and successful career in your VFD. As far as activities, just like TxDrake said, all it takes is an idea and some effort to start something. The traditional activities like Fill the Boot and Toys for Tots are fun and very rewarding but other ideas can include:
Halloween for the Kids at the Fire House