2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Lifes 2 Short 2 B So Serious All Da Time
4,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK Kil,

Its teaching time----

You've come down our way more than once and gone tuna fishing I think on the Big E.

In regards to jigging and trying to JIG up a Yellow fin. How would you do it?

What 3 jigs and their color/weights would you try, how many seconds would you drop down and how would you work the jig?

i got lots of questions to ask, I just want to learn more one step at time :)

Hog

·
Registered
457 Posts
Kil will certainly answer and im no expert.........but in the trips ive done, you'll find:

- avoiding blackfin can be tough, no matter what you do. but there are ways to increase chances for yellowfin. IMO shorter, fatter jigs are better for yellowfin. blackfin will hit anything. hammered diamond jigs, sevenseas hooker, oti jager, metallic sardines and similarly shaped jigs all work for yellowfin. i'm sure im missing some out, thats not meant to be all-encompassing.

- regarding color....im not a fan of glow jigs for yellowfin. blackfin seem to love glow jigs so using them tends to yield all blackfin.

- some say to jig the top 150' of the water column. that depends. if you're marking big fish in that region, sure, jig there. BUT....sometimes yellowfin are deeper. much deeper. i'd keep jigging all of the water column if you cannot find the fish. ive gone down to around 650-700 feet. on the big e last month, i had a huge fish hit at 650'. now, i think it was a sword based on how it fought and the fact the hook ripped out of its mouth, but who knows. there were fish down there :)

- i prefer slow jigging for tuna most of the time. simple up/down style. but, lots of times ive gotten hit on the drop so be ready.