2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Fishing from a paddle boat...
3,275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There was a post in that trolling etiquette thread that I wanted to comment on - I couldn't find it to quote, somehow it got lost in 10+ pages of wrist rockets and seagull skeet.

To paraphrase - "Could Tom and Rik add a page to the front of their fishing atlases with some basic Fishing etiquette guidelines?"

Sure, I realize that not everyone will read and follow them, especially those guys that think they know everything, but I bet most newbies would read them, and at least think about them when on the water.
Right now, I am paddling a kayak. I am also actively looking for a deal boat that can take me on some near shore/offshore fishing adventures. I have had boats for creek fishing, so I am not a total newbie, but as far as offshore guys packing heat for us newbies that come a little to close, I need some help. I will read this and other boards for "What to do" tips, but what about the guys that just got their first boat, picked up a Hilton's, and headed for the rigs? Giving that guy a page or two if fishing etiquette may save them and y'all long time hard core guys some grief.

Is this feasable?

Thanks,

Jerry

·
Registered
4,486 Posts
That would be a good idea, those two have lots of experience.

HOWEVER, everyone has prejudices and pet peeves etc. and it seems to me the more experienced you are (except for a few), the more you wish for the old days of a lot less traffic and perhaps the less tolerant SOME (not necessarily Hilton and Ric) become.

I think it'd be great if the more experienced guys on THIS board could come up with a set of guidelines that are reasonable and practical in todays high fuel price, crowded ocean, tough fishing environment, that a high percentage of 2coolers could live with.