2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
710 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been interesting watching this board through the season. All of the judging of deer based on scores is somewhat cool, but the judging of other hunters is a turn-off. There are those with the opportunity to hunt big mature deer making remarks about others shooting what they consider too young or too small. And then there are those sniping at the guys who pass on what 90% of the other deer hunters would love to hang on their wall.

I've been hunting for nearly 40 years and for the first time ever got to go inside the locked gate of a large well-managed ranch in deep south Texas this past weekend. Four wonderful days of looking at super nice bucks. As the sun came up Friday morning I was sitting in a blind with my buddy. His dad has been managing this place for over 10 years. First buck I see is a 2 yr old that is better than what I have on the wall. By 9am I had observed, photographed and video taped so many fantastic bucks I lost count. None were over 5, most were 3 and 4. I have to admit I was itching to shoot one particular deer that flipped my switch, but he wasn't nearly at full potential. But wow, was he ever fine.

We went in to camp and everyone showed their videos from the morning. I just sat there with my jaw hanging open. I spent the next 6 hunts rotating stands and watching some really fine deer. And once I saw a couple truly mature bucks that were deemed as shooters (not for me, I wasn't there to shoot a trophy) I became much more calm about watching the up and comers as they paraded by. I no longer had the desire to take a too-young deer even if it was a 150+ and far bigger than my personal best. I started to see the potential in each one of them. It was cool.