2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
We all have it coming......
Joined
·
8,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really thought this was a very informative article...

AUSTIN, Texas â€" With the beginning of hunting season, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Game Wardens would like to remind hunters to have fun, be safe and BE LEGAL.

"Every year, our game wardens issue hunters citations that could have been avoided," said Col. Jim Stinebaugh, TPWD law enforcement director. "We'd rather help folks learn to follow the rules and avoid common mistakes, which will keep them safe as well as legal."

For example, Stinebaugh says the most common hunting law violation in Texas is failure to be certified in hunter safety. From Sept. 1, 2003 to Aug. 23, 2004, game wardens cited 2,521 hunters with the violation of Hunter Safety regulation (no hunter education certification). This is a Class C Parks and Wildlife misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of as much as $500.

Following is a table of the last season's most common violations and their punishments, from most common to least common. All are Class C Parks and Wildlife misdemeanors, again, punishable by a fine of up to $500.

The top ten wildlife enforcement violations were as follows:

Number of Citations â€" Description *

1. 2,521 â€" Hunter safety violation (no hunter education certification)
2. 1,719 â€" White-tailed deer harvest log not completed
3. 858 â€" White-tailed deer improperly tagged
4. 540 â€" White-tailed deer untagged
5. 420 â€" White-tailed deer hunting or possession in closed season
6. 357 â€" Mourning dove hunting without a license or failure to show
7. 337 â€" Mourning dove hunting with unplugged shotgun
8. 316 â€" White-tailed deer hunting without a license or failure to show
9. 278 â€" Mourning dove over daily bag limit
10. 257 â€" Public Hunt Land â€" Any other violation
And there were 45 citations issued for killing of a white-tailed deer without landowner consent (Parks and Wildlife state jail felony). Parks and Wildlife state jail felony carries a penalty of not more than two years or less than 180 days in prison. In addition to confinement, there may be a fine of not less than $1,500 and not more than $10,000.

"These game laws were not put in place to ruin anyone's fun. They are there for the safety of everyone out there in the field, and are based on animal counts so we can enjoy hunting now but our children will also be able to in the future," said David Sinclair, of TPWD's Law Enforcement Division.

So to help ensure hunters don't end up pleading memory lapse in the face of a possible citation, Texas game wardens offer the following Top 10 "Don't Forget" list.

1. Take the hunter education course and carry your certification card with you in the field; look at our Web site (www.tpwd.state.tx.us/edu/) for a listing of courses.
2. Review the Outdoor Annual and check for open season dates and bag limits for the county you are hunting.
3. Check for legal means and methods in the county you are hunting.
4. Carry your current hunting license as this may have your hunter education number listed below your name and address.
5. Clearly identify your target before pulling the trigger.
6. Carry a sharp knife; cut out the date (month and day) of kill on deer and turkey tags and immediately after kill, attach appropriate tag to the deer or turkey.
7. Carry a ball-point pen; fill out ranch and county name on back of deer and turkey tags, and don't forget the deer log on the back of the license.
8. Carry a state driver's license or state personal identification certificate if you are 17 years of age or older.
9. Fill out a Wildlife Resource Document to accompany any wildlife resource, or part of a deer or turkey that you give to someone else.
10. Keep all game animals and game birds in an edible condition.
As an additional safety precaution, always point the muzzle in a safe direction, and keep your finger off the trigger until ready to fire.
 

·
Certified Bile Spewer
Joined
·
1,398 Posts
Other items

May as well continue this thread with a list of other essentials...

A roll of electrician's tape is ideal for securing your tag to the antler of a buck or the leg of a doe or turkey. Nylon ties will work too but aren't quite as secure.
 

·
Capt of the spyglass Potlicker club!
Joined
·
12,606 Posts
This is confusing!

What are the License and Tags for?

LOL
 

·
----------------------------------------
Joined
·
23,724 Posts
Not to start a big debate, but why do they think someone born in September of 1971
is a safer hunter and therefore doesn't need to attend a hunter safety course, as
opposed to someone born in October 1971? LOL Always wondered why they picked
that month?

MEGABITE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26,147 Posts
probably has to do when the law went into effect. Anyone that was 18 by Sept 30, 1989 was exempted from the safety course.

I don't know that 89 was when it went into effect, but you get the idea. (i hope)
 

·
We all have it coming......
Joined
·
8,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
speckle-catcher said:
probably has to do when the law went into effect. Anyone that was 18 by Sept 30, 1989 was exempted from the safety course.

I don't know that 89 was when it went into effect, but you get the idea. (i hope)
I believe that is exactly right. If I remember correctly, they grandfathered everyone that was eith 18 or 21(don't remember exactly) at the time the law was enacted. And September is when the new license year started.
 

·
----------------------------------------
Joined
·
23,724 Posts
I wish I was Grandfathered....

From the TPWD site:

"Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.

Of course I forgot to mention I was born Oct 9, 1971. LMAO

MEGA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,007 Posts
Funny

MEGABITE said:
I wish I was Grandfathered....

From the TPWD site:

"Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.

Of course I forgot to mention I was born Oct 9, 1971. LMAO

MEGA
My brother was "reminded" about his 9/28/71 birthday last weekend from the green men.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,638 Posts
If there had been no grandfathered hunters when hunter safety was started, there wouldn't have been enough instructors to handle the backlog for at least 5 years or more. For that reason, all the states have grandfathered existing adult hunters when they adopted a hunter safety program.
 

·
----------------------------------------
Joined
·
23,724 Posts
Grandfathered

gundoctor said:
If there had been no grandfathered hunters when hunter safety was started, there wouldn't have been enough instructors to handle the backlog for at least 5 years or more. For that reason, all the states have grandfathered existing adult hunters when they adopted a hunter safety program.
Texas didn't "Grandfather" anyone. It's cut n dry. If you were born before
Sept 2, 1971, you must go to hunting class (even if you have been hunting
since you were big enough to tote a gun).

MEGABITE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26,147 Posts
uh, randy - if you were born AFTER Sept 2, 1971 you have to take the class. That means everyone on or after Sept 2, 1971 is grandfathered.
 

·
----------------------------------------
Joined
·
23,724 Posts
OOPS! hehe I meant to say "AFTER" Sept 2, 1971... *red*

People born BEFORE Sept. 2, 1971 are "grandfathered" and don't have to go to
hunting school.

MEGA
 

·
Capt of the spyglass Potlicker club!
Joined
·
12,606 Posts
Hey! I got my teal tags this year Ox. Dude I even got three rainbow teal tags! How many people do you think went teal hunting without them? If you need some let me know I ended up getting a bunch of extras. A warden buddy of mine had them. yeehaw!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
578 Posts
Good point gundoctor.

There are not enough instructors as it is right now. I taught a class on October 9 and 10th and I had to teach 51 students by myself.

And yes they did grandfather people into the law. In 1988 they made it mandatory. So that meant anyone 17 or older that day would not be required to take it.

Does anyone know how many fatal accidents were last year pertaining to hunting? Only 2 Two (WOW!) That is the main reason I do it!

Here is a link to the report:
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publications/wildlife_habitat/education/2003_hunting_accident_report.pdf
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top