2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the great things about this job is the people I get to meet. Every day I meet some of the finest folks on the face of this earth and have the oppportunity to fish with them and share what little I know about this sport.

Yesterday was no exception. As many of you know, I am a huge sports fan. Basketball, and football are my 2 favorites and while I may never win a Trivial Pursuit game about sports, I do pride myself on knowing a little about the history of the games.

I had the great privilege of fishing with Mr. Henry Sheppard and Justin. Henry is a Cuero native that played his college ball at SMU and went on to a 7 year career with the Cleveland Browns as an offensive tackle.

We started out wadefishing this day but after I started learning more and more about the man, we changed to drift fishing so I could hear more of his fascinating insider's look at pro football.

I'm sure he was getting tired of my inquisitiveness by the time the day was over. Of course the howling southeast winds we faced all day didn't help matters much either.

As I stated, we started out wadefishing near some rocks and Henry drew first blood with a 15"er on a pink Skitterwalk soon into our wade.

Justin hung a couple of small trout on a limetreuce assassin underneath a Cajun Thunder popping cork. And I managed one 18" trout on rootbeer/ red flake assassin. Action was steady but no size to the fish so we moved on to our next stop.

We headed for some rocks in open water but soon into the drift, I realized that the winds had made this area too rough to fish so we headed for more protected waters along the south shoreline.