2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been awhile since I saw a thread on t-mobile coverage in the gulf. Those that have t-mobile is it working offshore? Our phones just got switched over to the t-mobile network.. I know before there were mixed reviews. We go out of freeport up to 100 miles if that helps.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Not T-Mobile but according to their site they support all major carriers and the map looks like they cover a lot of the gulf off the Texas coast. I have no experience with it, just stumbled across the website a few days ago.

·
Registered
224 Posts
I have Verizon here and I lose all coverage at about 30 miles out. If I don;t turn off my phone, it will go dead in a few hours (even in airplane mode). I still imagine you would have to be within sight if a supporting rig out there and most of them are long gone.

·
Registered
394 Posts
I have Verizon here and I lose all coverage at about 30 miles out. If I don;t turn off my phone, it will go dead in a few hours (even in airplane mode). I still imagine you would have to be within sight if a supporting rig out there and most of them are long gone.
You get verizon out to 30 miles? Mine consistently goes out to next to nothing at 6-7 miles. I have never received any signal while deep offshore near any rigs. My buddy who has AT&T gets pretty decent signal at most of the manned offshore rigs for sending texts, but nothing more.

·
fish control my brain
7,749 Posts
AT&T can work near rigs… depends on area

·
Registered
224 Posts
You get verizon out to 30 miles?
Yea I might have over stated that a bit.... Seems to go once I loose sight of land. On the way in, I don't start hookinh up again until I just about hit the jetties.... Then the phone starts going nuts with alerts.

·
Registered
4,460 Posts