2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Its fun n games until HR gets involved!
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys:

I'm a newbie to rod building having built just 4 to date. Being a traditionalist by nature I have resisted the urge to "spiral" but I think I'm ready to try it. My question starts as a statement; I notice that everyone spirals the guides in a clockwise manner. I'm a lefty so should I spiral the guides around the blank counter clockwise or does it matter?

A.T.

·
Rapper
400 Posts
It doesn't matter. Some guys spiral them to the reel side so it's easier in the rod rack. Others spiral the opposite side of the handle to better guide the line with their other hand. All kinds of ways to do it. Personally, I use left hand retrieve reels and spiral mine to the left. Given the same scenerios but different sides, they both fish the same. Randy.

·
Registered
282 Posts
On level wind reels I go to the handle side so I can lay the rod on the deck (on the other side) with no protrusions.
On a salt water reel with no level wind i spiral to the other side so it allows me to only have to push the line with my thumb.

·
Banned
960 Posts
it does not matter really, except if you are fighting a good fish. the purpose of the spiral wrap is to keep line off the blank when it is bent, but when you have a good fish on and you have a light rod the line will slap the rod. if you just turn the rod toward the spiral you can releaf the line slap, so if rod is in left hand and spiral is to the right it is easy to twist the rod to the right, rod is in the right hand it is easier to twist the rod to left when guide are spiral to the left. for this reason if you hold rod in left hand when fishing spiral to right and vice versus. if i turn the reel with my left and held the rod in my right i would spiral to left, because of the awkwardness of it if i didn't.

·
Registered
892 Posts