2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Kinda new to spearfishing. I went out a couple of times last year, and only a few this year due to the weather. I have only freedived so far, but I am wanting to get into it more. This stuff is addicting.

What type of speargun do yall recommend? I dont want to break the bank, yet i also want a quality gun.

Thanks

Michael

·
Registered
95 Posts
Spearguns!~

I am also new to the sport and don't have extensive experience but I bought a Riffe metal tech 3. Its accurate and has good range! There are cheaper guns out there but the metal tech works really well for me!

Brandon

·
Underwater Point & Click
1,046 Posts
I have only had the pleasure of shooting JBL's, but of the Competition Magnum, Gulf Magnum and the 450 Magnum, I would say the best gun for our gulf is a Gulf Magnum. Easy to load, great range & power, not too much of a reach for those shorter than 5'10". I had a hard time figuring out how to load my 450 the first few times I used it.

There are many others Riffe, Wong's, etc, but I have heard much adeau about the JBL Gulf Magnum and from shooting it, I am impressed.

If you are looking to go cheap :Here

But I would recommend calling Mike Cryer at Hydrasporst Scuba in Lake Jackson to hook you up. You will pay a few more bucks for it, but it is well worth it. He can get you rigged up and if anything goes wrong, he is stand up about fixing it.

Whichever gun you choose, if you are going to be around rigs, get it Gulf Rigged (with cable and a shock cord setup). If you go the cheap route, get with Scubaru here on the board, he can hook you up with rigging it correctly. Would run you $250ish for the gun, and another $50 or so for the rigging. About half that of a good Riffe. But supporting your local scuba shop is the best thing I would recommend. Those guys are there supporting something we love.