2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any recomendations on what articial lures I should use when fishing this weekend at Matagorda Bay - Brands, Colors, etc.

I am a rookie when it comes to articials and appreciate any recomendations on what is working for you.

I will be fishing in the day light hours on Sunday, thanks.

·
Registered
2,555 Posts
Pick up some 1/8 oz jig heads, Norton and Hoagie makes some good ones, with wide gap hooks. Then get some plastic worms, Assasins and Texas Trout/Red Killers are propular, in light and dark colors. The dark colors work better for me in stained water. Most important, throw them with confidence. You have to believe that a fish is looking at your lure on every cast. Don't give up. If you can find some hungry fish they will eat those lures.

·
Banned
1,140 Posts
if you dont liek to over kill on your bait selection, take a Top Pup or Top Dog Jr. in bone and trout (white/chrome/green), a fw soft plastics such as Asassins in the fluke and paddle tail modles in solid white and plum colors. take a few 1/16 and 1/8 oz jig head (either a screw or regular type) and some 1/0 wide gap worm hooks (gamakatsu), red hooks might be an alternitive to the black color. also a few split shots will come in handy. a few spoons (weedless and regular) in gold and chrome will also be a good choice for dence mats of vegitaion, 1/4 and 1/2 oz sizes should do you up right. I would recommend 10-15 pound test line on a medium (at the biggest rod) for this.... I use a light power rod with 10# mono.... its a lot funner on a small rod....good luck...........JJ

·
Still a write in candidate HOMER '16
2,582 Posts
welcome aboard

Like TooShallow said confidence is the key. In my wade box i carry red/white bull minnow, Pumkinseed/chartruce bull minnow, Tequilla lime sand ells, and the texas avacado assasin. 1/8th, and 1/16 oz wide gap jig heads. Good luck

Josh

·
Registered
726 Posts
For starters: