2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Triple D Guide Service
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay I am looking at getting a new rod. What exactly is tip action? What is the best tip action and overall power (med, med lt, etc) for fishing arties?? I usually use topwaters with the occasional plastic with 1/8 oz head, sinking mirrolure, and spoon, reel is curado, line weight is generally 12lb sometimes 14lb.....kinda looking for the all around rod I guess. I am not looking for info on a brand, just info on what action and power y'all think is the best. Would like one that would do well in freshwater as well (arties again). Does one location carry the laguna's, waterloos, and kistler rods(in Angleton, so Houston area is best)? I am pretty much looking at the Laguna but I want to "feel" all to make sure. Thanks for any info.

·
Registered
753 Posts
I think most of this is personal preference but saying that. My .02. I am no expert on this field. I do own a Laguna Medium classic. I think that is what its called. Great rod for topwaters but I feel its a bit stiff for jig heads. It works fine but it could use a little more action. I think if I strickly fished for Specs I would go with a medium light. But since I use this rod for just about everything from dead shrimp , live shrimp, arties..then It works out for me. It would be nice if you could demo a medium and a medium light. Maybe someone would let you borrow theirs..

·
Catch a New Personal - Learn How!
12,640 Posts
This is my opinion. I personally throw a 1/8th to 5/8 med light 6,6" with a green curado (ABEC 5 bearing upgrade) using 12-15 lb mono and at the moment suffix braid 8-30. It covers everything pretty well from 1/8th to super spooks. Not sure what the tip action is ...it's not super whippy. Hence, I don't get super long casts with the 1/8th by itself. If I rig it under a mauler I get plenty of distance.