2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im relatively new to blue water fishing and have a few questions about oil rigs. Is there a difference between a stand pipe and an oil rig besides the distance from land? What makes one rig better then another for holding fish given equal water depth? Also, I'll be fishing out of Port A. Are there any certain rigs or rig types that your not allowed to tie to? Thanks for the help. I've learned a lot from this board and hope to put it all to use next week!

·
Registered
693 Posts
A standpipe is a rig, it just has one pipe sticking out of the water and a 4 leg system underwater. As for what makes one rig better than another - The ones with fish are better. Sorry for the pat answer, but that is the fact of it. Too Many factors affect the which is better than to list, and it changes from day to day for pelagics. For bottom fish the most importand factor would be fishing pressure. As for tieing up, as long as they are not maned, no problem - Just keep an eye out for service vessels, they can come up quick.

·
Registered
552 Posts
Welcome to the Big Blue Pond. Usually you cannot tie up to anything that floats. I usually refer to a standpipe as the single pipe rigs 1 leg to the platform versus a rig which usually has 4-6-8 or more legs. I think the more structure under water is what matters as far as holding the fish. Even stand pipes have a fairly wide base at the bottom. Single pipe goes down to a base of 3-4 pipes. You can see this on your bottom machine or will find out when you get hung up. Good luck.:bluefish:

·
Registered
1,778 Posts
The older the better. They will let you know if you need to untie due to a crew boat coming or working above you. Oh yea dont climb the abandoned rigs and jump off.

IT HURTS!!!