2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have seen the videos on how to replace and it doesn't look that hard. I am not a boat mechanic, but will to give it a go. I cannot find which thermostat I need.
My yamaha is the TLRV Model, but I cannot find that when looking for the correct thermostat.

What am I missing?

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I see it being sold 12411-20-00 as New 12441-30-00. Is this the one?
I also will order the gasket. Thanks again

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So I need to order two of the thermostats and two gaskets. Are they the same number 12411-20-00 New as 12411-30-00?

I would normally take to my mechanic but I might be out of pocket and need to get it done soon. So, I will try it. I will have to find the other thermostat on my motor.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,914 Posts
So I need to order two of the thermostats and two gaskets. Are they the same number 12411-20-00 New as 12411-30-00?

I would normally take to my mechanic but I might be out of pocket and need to get it done soon. So, I will try it. I will have to find the other thermostat on my motor.

Thanks
They are the same part number, 12411-20. The gaskets will probably tear apart so order those as well. The thermostat housing is on top of each cylinder head. Kind of a squared shape. Find the engine schematic on boats.net or sim Yamaha it will help a ton.

Don’t over think it, very easy job to replace them.

·
Registered
42 Posts
you can break off the aluminum bolts . It is best to move the bolts while they are hot after a day of fishing . just get them to break free and then do them when you have time. a boat thermostat only help you for first 5 minutes on a cold day after that it stays open so most boats in water have a bad thermostat and they are stuck in open position. you can heat them with torch and they should take very little force to move .

·
Registered
1,391 Posts