2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Boatright custom flats
3,826 Posts
If you have a boat, the bigger sharks can be caught a mile or two offshore with ease. I've been catching some 5 footers using mullet or menhaden, and chumming a little while drifting. All of them have been caught freelining bait with no weight. (I'm actually looking for kingfish, but catching tons of sharks) Spinners, blacktips and Atlantic Sharpnose are thick out there. The little 12"-24" pups are thick in the surf, the bigger ones are hanging a little further out.

·
Registered
663 Posts
I am new to this shark fishing and to this board but in the last two weekends, drifting in the surf near the Galveston north jetty have caught over 50 sharks all from 1 1/2' to 3 1/2' foot. Had 2 big ones break me off.

·
Registered
30,254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
CamoWhaler said:
I am new to this shark fishing and to this board but in the last two weekends, drifting in the surf near the Galveston north jetty have caught over 50 sharks all from 1 1/2' to 3 1/2' foot. Had 2 big ones break me off.
You mite want to chek where the line broke off could be the learders had that happen to me.

·
Registered
663 Posts