2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Fishing from a paddle boat...
3,275 Posts
If the facts in the article are correct (lots on photos of teen & pre-tee girls playing sports, showing only from neck to knee), then I would say, yes, good arrest. If it is only a few photos like that, with a bunch of pics of his daughters team, then the arrest is silly. If the arrest is bad, the Grand Jury should throw it out. Also, if the guy has a VALID reason to take pics like that (other than the illegal reasons) then he will get his day in court to explain himself.

Pics like this can be a "grey area", and IF I though I needed photos like that, and had a good reason, I would be sure to get consent first, to avoid any "misunderstandings"

Jerry

·
Charter Member
5,925 Posts
As a sports photographer, I know for a fact it would take an expensive lens in the focal range of 300 - 500mm to shoot small kids from the neck down. I shot a high school soccer match and even at 420mm, the players had to be pretty close to get a close up like described. I haven't read anything about what the guy was using.

Maybe more info will surface and it may finally play out in court. I haven't heard of any statements from the photog saying what he was doing photographing kids in a public place just like moms and dads, aunts or uncles do all the time.

However, the stuff the police confiscated from his car does appear incriminating to say the least.

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
By the letter of the law it s seems this lawyer's client's goose was cooked. I'd say (as written) the evidence in the car goes for purpose and he didn't have consent, which I would think would actually have to come from a parent.