2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I might be picking up an 11'6" fiberglass surf blank. I know fiberglass is outdated but I've really been intrested in building a retro rod for my first attempt. Since I have a vintage Jigmaster and another old Squidder on the way, I figure it would be a neat project. Any suggestions on what kind of hardware I should consider for such a rod? I want to keep it fairly simple and not go too overboard costwise. I would really appreciate some input. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
I was at Cut Rate in Houston the other day and they have some fiberglass blanks that might be just right for a retro rod. They are made in China and the price was like $35 for a 10 ft blank. If you are in the Houston area, they are worth checking into further.
I was in a hurry and didn't look that close.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks GD but I'm stuck in the armpit of Texas area(Rio Grande Valley). If I want anything decent I have to order it. If I had waited I could have sniped that Lamiglass blank for 35 buck. Does Cute Rate do any business off of the internet?
Anyway Mudhole has some decent blanks,maybe I'll go graphite or composite with a retro look. **** tough trying to figure out how I want to make my first rod.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Very true, Big Lou and his buddies hit SPI almost every year around Setember/October and Yakmon and Deaver hit the Mansfield jetties from time to time. But on the north side guess a short yak trip across the channel to pick anything up. Rod building will be a winter project anyway since I don't have a lease this year, got plenty of time.

·
Registered
199 Posts