2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Ruger M77 MKII in .270 Win. that I have used Federal loads with 150 grain Partitions in for the last two years but I am not satisfied with the groups I am getting with them. I use Federal ammo w/ Partitions in both my other deer rifles and have never had any complaints with them. I used two different boxes of ammo in the Ruger from two different stores so I know it wasn't a bad run.

I am going to pick up a box of 130 grain Nosler ballistic tip Federals to try out but I have never used them on deer before because I thought they were designed more for varmint hunting. Does anyone have any experience with these round in relation to whitetails and if so what are your thoguhts on them?

~Adam

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
speckle-catcher said:
$5 says Gundoctor will chime in here and tell you exactly what to do.
I'll take that bet. LOL

·
Banned
299 Posts
Up until last year when I bought a new .308, I had hunted with a .270 for the last 21 years. And I had always used 130 grain Federal Sierra-Gamekings with good results.

If you look at the ballistic charts. Here: http://www.federalcartridge.com/default.asp?menu=1&s1=1

You will see that the ballistics for the Sierra-Gamekings and Ballistic-Tips are almost identical. I do believe the Ballistic-Tips would probably be slightly more accurate. But IMO the Sierra-Gamekings would be a better choice for nocking down wild game.

150 Grain Nosler Partition

130 Grain Nosler Ballistic Tip

130 Grain Sierra GameKing BTSP

·
CantRe Member
782 Posts