2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
please help me find some places to go fishing that might produce. ive just purchased a new boat and been out on it 4 times and havent caught anything!! i would never addmit this to anyone normaly but i cant take it anymore,its a 20 footer and im a rookie,please help if anyone would like to go out tomorrow just let me now im leaving out of katy. the closer the better but where ever i have to go to scratch this itch im down!

·
Registered
332 Posts
Where have you been going and how are you fishing? A good place to start is with shrimp out at the jetties. Just free line it or put a cork on and something is bound to take it.

·
Registered
713 Posts
Get yourself a hot spot map of Galveston from Academy. Look over the spots listed in the areas you are interested in fishing. There is a legend covering each section that tells you what month of the year to fish the spots and what to expect to catch.

Listening to the 610am Outdoor radio show on Thursday, Friday and Saturday mornings starting at 4:00am can also give you some good information.

You might try hiring a guide to take you fishing in your boat and give you ideas on areas to fish.

Lastly, just go out and look for spots. Be aware of other boats in the area and watch to see if they are catching anything. Make a note of the area (spot) and try fishing it next time around. Just because a lot of boats are anchored around each other doesn't mean anyone is catching fish. Some of the best spots I've found have been away from areas that are normally fished.

Tide movement plays a big role in fishing catching. Some spots are better fished in an out going tide vs incoming and vice versa. The best thing to do is know the tide information for the day and keep a log of where you fished along with tide information. Soon you will develope a history of your fishing and be able to better know where to go depending on the conditions.

·