2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Time to make the Donuts...
3,315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In short a builder whom I did work for is trying to short me $4000 for architectural services we provided. Here are some of the specifics;

New builder here in town but I have a 9yr relationship with the Architectural Manager of the company.

There was no written agreement for the work we did. We did have a verbal agreement but it was taken out of context and the president of the company is trying to use that as leverage to cheat me out of money owed.

The president is not new to the industry and worked for a big builder here for 8yrs (+-) before starting the smaller company he is now building up.

Do I have a legal leg to stand on or can I try to work out the difference in small claims court?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
aka: KSims1868
3,848 Posts
I'm not a lawyer, but without anything in writing it will be a "he said...she said" case.
You could try it in small claims court, but any lawyer able to fight this case will likely cost more than the $4,000 in payment you are looking to recover.

·
3,315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not a lawyer, but without anything in writing it will be a "he said...she said" case.
You could try it in small claims court, but any lawyer able to fight this case will likely cost more than the $4,000 in payment you are looking to recover.
That's what I need to hear. If I take it to small claims court can I at least get a judgment on the company as a black eye for the future or will it mean nothing?

·
Registered
30,684 Posts
There was no written agreement for the work we did. We did have a verbal agreement but it was taken out of context and the president of the company is trying to use that as leverage to cheat me out of money owed.
silly boy, you should know better. legally, you don't have a chance in hell.

as the old saying goes, a verbal agreement ain't worth the paper it's written on.

·
3,315 Posts