2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not going to bore you with the details, but like everyone else over a week without power put me behind on many fronts. I hope now that the worst is behind me.

This is my official Ike post. I'm in a funk and I don't know about the rest of you here on the photo part of this board, but I'm very depressed by the carnage it's left behind. Like the fishermen and hunters on this board as a landscape photographer I've never taken the beauty around us for granted.

The imagery I've seen from my favorite haunts (Bolivar, BBSP, Kemah etc) this hit me right in the wheelhouse. It's going to be very challenging from now through the spring I suppose to find those special shots amidst the tangles of broken branches and debris, but after a few weeks of admitted self pity, it's time to format the cards and charge the batteries again.

For my friends in Galveston and Bolivar be strong and bring it back better than ever. When I heard the lighthouse was gone I was at a loss for words. I was so happy to find that not to be the case - as I truly consider it to be the icon of Bolivar. Just like after the storm of 1900 the lighthouse remains...not from the strength of a single brick, but from the some of it's parts. Thanks to all of you for helping your neighbors.

I wanted to post this first when the lights were off and I heard it was still there. Perhaps some of you see something special in these clouds...

·
Registered
2,091 Posts