2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Sell Me Your House! NO Commissions!
625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know if you can drive around from the Texas City Dike to the flood gate at Moses Lake? I was there a couple months ago and the road was closed. I live in Spring and don't get down there much. I'm just learning about fishing for trout and reds and heard it was a pretty good area. I want to find somewhere to fish on this side of the bridge to Galveston for when I can sneak away for a couple of hours. Has the dike been re-opened yet? I'd appreciate any help since I'm clueless! Thanks!

·
Twitch..Twitch--->Boom
5,311 Posts
The Dike will be closed for sometime. You cannot get down the dike access (skyline drive ) to Moses Lake.

Jump on Skyline Drive and there is allot of good fishing right there if you dont have a boat.

·
csmilo23
126 Posts
Yeah i like fishing down there by the flood gate as well. But all the times i went down there last month it was blocked off.

C.Hern, are you talking bout parking off skyline and walking down to those rocks?

·
625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah i like fishing down there by the flood gate as well. But all the times i went down there last month it was blocked off.

C.Hern, are you talking bout parking off skyline and walking down to those rocks?
Thanks for the comment. I went on Thursday afternoon just to see if I could get there. The road was open back to the flood gate and I parked and took the kayak down to the rocks. Paddled across the lake along the northern shoreline. Very foggy and didn't even get one bite. There were several other boats in the area but I didn't see anyone catching anything. I've been there about 4 times and haven't caught a fish yet. I thought the deep holes might hold fish since it's been so cold. It doesn't seem like a great place to me.

·
625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·