2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
I'm a new member, although I've been visiting this website faithfully for the past six months and have gotten lots of good information. I have a Hydrasport Vector 2000CD with a 1994 225 Oceanrunner and I have decision to make on the lower unit. It needs to be rebuilt or replaced. I can buy a brand new one on eBay, from a Chicago distributor, for $1,595 (with $200 core charge). The other option is rebuilding. Does anyone have a shop they would recommend for the rebuild. Second, what can I expect to pay?

Thanks for your help.

·
Iusedtofish
2,893 Posts
My experience has been that it cost just about the same either way you go, Depending what all is broken in your lower unit. If you just need some new gears, and the housing is still in good condition, repair would be the way to go. Otherwise, go with the replacement. I would recommend finding out what all needs to be replaced before making the decision. my .02
Bret

·
Reel Gambler
3,761 Posts
Skin,

I would try to find out who and when the new lower unit was built. If it was built before Bombardaire bought Evinrude, I would pass on the new unit and get your old one rebuilt. The last years before they were bought they built some junky lower units.

·
Registered
30,257 Posts
What's the bid on the rebuild? How much corrosion and external damage is on the original? What is the warranty on the Chicago unit? What is the warranty on a local replacement? Is the replacement really a rebuild using non-OEM parts? Will your local rebuild use non-OEM parts and what is their warranty. Will you fix it and sell it? Fix it and run it a couple more years? Fix it and keep it till the day you die?

Interest rates are so low, right now, you may consider a new motor a more viable option, especially if you use the boat 200 hours/year or more.

NADA says that motor is worth $3000. If the top is good, it may well be worth fixin.

·
Registered