2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is everyone's preference on line color for trolling rods, and, more importantly, why is it your preference? I need to spool some new 50s and I am thinking about the Ande high-vis yellow, but dont want to spook anything in the process. I have always used clear line in the past.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I had the ande pink on my trolling rods. Not a good idea. It is great in the water, but you cannot see it out of the water much past the transom. Lines seem to tangle alot.

I went to the Red Cajun Line in early April hoping that I would have the best of both worlds. Hi-Viz when out of the water and invisible in the water. Well . . . it is not as easy to see behind the boat as I was expecting, I am not sure what it looks like under the water. I have little experience with big fish trolling, yet. The only problem I have noticed when rig fishing is the memory in the line. When you break an AJ off you have to cut the last 10-15 feet of line off because of the memory. That may mean that it is really stout. I just have not had the opportunity this spring/summer to get out and catch enough fish to have a report on it.

When I respool my trolling rigs later this year or early next, I will go with the Ande Hi-Viz yellow.
---------------kyle

·
Registered
10,637 Posts
I have always used clear or clear blue and never have a prob seeing the line. Get some good polarized shades. They help. I use costa del mar blue mirror when it is cloudy and green mirror when the sun is out w/ little cloud cover. They make a huge difference. Once you go to good polarized glasses it is like a whole new world opens up and you will never want to not wear them.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts