2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Gone Phishing
6,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody taken the GMAT in the last few years? If so, what is the best advice you can give for studying for it? I already bought the 2010 Kaplan GMAT Premier book and am devising a study plan. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I took the GMAT back in March. I studied the 2009 Princeton Review. I think I started about 2 months in advance and took my time going through the chapters and what not.

Advice:
#1 Give yourself plenty of time. Some what gets covered is based on stuff you learned back in junior high/high school (algebra/geometry) so you have to go back and "re-learn" it.
#2 Study the format of the test. Just like any standardized test if you're familiar with the format then you wont waste time reading the directions/etc.
#3 Do the practice tests. mba.com has some on it and Im sure your review came with some in the book or on a cd.

If I think of anything else I'll let ya know.

·
Gone Phishing
6,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I took the GMAT back in March. I studied the 2009 Princeton Review. I think I started about 2 months in advance and took my time going through the chapters and what not.

Advice:
#1 Give yourself plenty of time. Some what gets covered is based on stuff you learned back in junior high/high school (algebra/geometry) so you have to go back and "re-learn" it.
#2 Study the format of the test. Just like any standardized test if you're familiar with the format then you wont waste time reading the directions/etc.
#3 Do the practice tests. mba.com has some on it and Im sure your review came with some in the book or on a cd.

If I think of anything else I'll let ya know.