2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the electricians out there--I installed a 22kw generac standby generator. As you know, the generator has a built in trickle charger for the 26r battery. I want to delete the 22r battery for a larger, more powerful CCA battery. Will the generac trickle charger charge up that bigger battery?

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
I am the former owner of a large Generac sales/installation and most importantly, service company. I am not afraid to say that I am an expert on Generac and Cummins generators.
First, the built in charger is not a trickle charger. It is a smart charger that charges the battery only as needed. It will charge any 12V battery. However, there is nothing to be gained by changing the 26 to a larger battery. If you are having problems with your battery, there is a problem that needs to be addressed. I would be happy to advise is if you have questions.
KM

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ahh, my bad. I thought it was trickle charger.

In less than 12 months, I have gone through 2 batteries. I have no error codes and the green light on side is on. I went through submenu, and battery shows as “good”.

During the freeze, the generac would not start. It would go through the 7 (I think) start cycles, then throw an error code-something about too many start attempts. P.s., cold start is enabled.

Any idea why it would not start? No problems starting when not freezing cold

·
Registered
1,052 Posts