2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
BlueDog
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Weather permitting, I am going to try my luck outside the Port A jetties. I would like to catch a couple of these Kings I hear have been hanging around. Being as this is my first attempt, I thought it might be wise to ask for some help. I have an 18.5' bay boat and no downriggers so I can't get to crazy. Any help would be much appreciated.

-Steven

·
Registered
303 Posts
jetty kings

To catch kings off the jetty you don't want to go far. Just drift ribbonfish on 3 hook rigs at different depths. Big kings are caught just off the apron of the jetties. Occasionally bump your motor to pull the baits up and then let them settle back down. The drop offs into the channel are good spots. You shouldn't need to go past the fairwell buoy to find action. Rig your baits with skirts and different size egg sinkers to vary your depth. Have a great day, Nate

·
Registered
54 Posts
5 miles outside the jetties..slightly south of east are 3 rigs..stand pipes..look for them when you clear the jetties..3 hook kingfish rigs with ribbon fish..drift or vary your trolling speed around the rigs...should have a blast..look out for those teeth.. ; )

·
Registered
45 Posts