2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a 22 year old student that is graduating in december. I have a job lined up for when I graduate, and I am getting married soon. I have an awesome life. There is one thing missing... a fishing boat. I have always wanted a fishing boat, and now I am going to have some extra funds that I would like to invest in a boat. I am into fishing the Galveston/Matagorda region but I occassionally make a trip south. I was wondering what you guys (the ones with many years boating/fishing experience) would reccomend. I have about 8-12K to spend on a used boat. I was leaning towards boats like Flast cat, transport,explorer, south shore, and shallow sports. I am open to any suggestions on the importance of draft, and any personal first hand experience with any of these boats and how shallow they will run. Thanks for the input, all of it is appreciated.

·
Registered
2,555 Posts
Semi-V tunnel hull sounds like the best fit for your fishing habits. I would try and find a used Shoalwater or Transport in the 18' to 21' range with a Yamaha motor. These boats will draft 10" to 12" fully loaded and will get up a few inches deeper if they're set up right. I don't think you will find a Southshore or Shallowsport in that price range that would be in as good of shape as the two I mentioned but ya never know. Oh yeah, most tunnel hulls will run shallow enough to get you in trouble if you shut down in the wrong spot. They run shallower than they float. Good luck.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Semi V Tunnel hull sounds about right. There is a specially sweet 18 ft mowdy for sale now in the classifieds now as well as a 17 ft explorer (clone) tv.
-KC

·
Registered
27 Posts
I love my 19 ft tunnel vee. Great all around hull design runs shallow but still handles rough water well. Explorer,Mowdy,Shoalwater,Bay Warrior.

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter #6