2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although not totally inexperienced in reloading, one thing I have never really been able to do if fine tune a load to a particular firearm. I have been loading for a 300 RUM for several years now and guess I just got lucky because I found a load that that rifle liked after trying a few in the manuals. Now I have a 25.06 that I was not so lucky on and it's giving me fits.

Is there a way to determine what adjustments need to be made? Trying to be more efficient than just working up a load and trying it blind.

·
Registered
13,287 Posts
Its a multi-variable thing, so I try to hold as many variables constant as I can, and then try to change only one variable at a time. Easier said than done sometimes.

I think first order of business is to select approriate components. Decent brass, decent bullets, and a powder that others have had sucess with for that round. Get it close with one of the approaches (ladder test, whatever) with one bullet, one powder, and one set of brass, and then make small changes to fine tune. Seating depth, primer selection, brass mfg-er, etc.

(As an aside, in .308, my Hornady Match brass is significantly lighter than R-P brass. A water test would likely reveal a volume difference which, in some loadings, could be the difference.)

Bigger picture - part of the problem here is the data sample size. Every single one of us likely has shot one of those wall hanger targets. You know, just a stunning group of three or five that we use for bragging. Often times, when that same load is shot over a bigger sample size, what at first blush appeared to be a hammer load, is merely so so in ten round groups or say ten five round groups. Ten five rounds groups tend to separate the only so so from the true hammer loads.

(Add in the fact I'm a poor shooter, and I am truly doomed to burn thru a ton a ammo.)

·
Banned
4,335 Posts