2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Unruly Member
2,620 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It happens at the oddest time. I’ve been posting to this board for close to three years now. Reading up on surf-fishing and trying to catch my first big shark. Living on the outskirts of Dallas a trip to the coast is a fairly big undertaking. Especially when you consider family obligations, work and hunting season. As often as possilbe I pack up the xTerra and head to the beach. I’ve been to PINs, Matagorda, High Island, and San Luis Pass â€" I’ve caught a lot of great fish … but no big sharks. I’ve caught some good sized Reds, Black Drum, Jacks, but when it comes to sharks I’ve not pulled anything in bigger than 2 feet. Not for a lack of buying. I've bought lines, leaders and rods reals and kayaks. Not for a lack of trying. I've built my own surf weights, read up on reading the beach. Just a lack of experience, luck and good fishing opportunities.

My family loves the beach. When I go down to San Luis Pass, it’s strictly family fishing. It is my favorite kind of fishing. This weekend my Brother-and-Sister-in-law’s family would be joining us. Packed up the xTerra with body boards, chairs and plenty of food.

The first picture below is a picture of base camp. Yup, my kids are junior surfers â€" not fishermen. Their young 8 & 5, and don't like to touch the bait. Breaks my heart but what can you do? However, they are beach babies and love the coast.

Got to the beach by 8:30AM on Saturday and the sun was shining. Got some lines out and set up base camp. I was primarily angling for Reds. SLP has always been good to me. It’s where I first tried surf-fishing three short years ago, and where I’ve caught some great drum and trout. I had the spinning reel with 20 pound test line and a simple double drop leader. Nothing fancy, but I was hoping I would get some Red Drum to take home with me.