2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Salt/Freshwater Angler
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what would u guys say is a fair cast in the surf? 100 yrds? im new with casting surf rods and im kinda having a little trouble. i know i just need practice and maybe some better line. im shootin for 100yrds w/bait n leader so i need to know if im not over doing it lol

·
Registered
199 Posts
depending on what you are casting for weight and bait that is easily achievable you just need to practice I can get somewhere in the area of 150 to 175 yards with a clipped down pulley rig and about 4 oz of lead. using the off the ground casting technique its not near as powerful as a pendulum but I have not tried it yet.

Ramon

·
Gulf Coast *******
216 Posts
You are doing auwsome if you are casting 100 yards with bait into the surf. I can do small pieces of bait in the range of 100 yards but nothing over the size of a pony mullet. That is with a pendulum cast

Usually I will cast a 12 inch whiting or similar and I will wade to the first bar and cast.

The sinker by itself I can reach 500 feet consistantly. With fishbites in the winter time I can sing my setup well into the second gut for pompano.

·
Salt/Freshwater Angler
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
im tossin a 10'6 tica w/daiwa bg90 (spinning) spooled w/40# braid. i need new line cause i used to have 125yrds of braid backed with 25#bg but i got some nasty abrasion in the braid so i had to pull alot of it off. so now im casting the all of what i got left of braid then the backing comes out and i think its slowing down the cast.
i also need some breakaway rigs or something. i practice the off the ground cast as well w/4oz.

for now im a little hesitant to cast something large such as a 12" whitting cause on sunday i tried to cast half a pup ray w/6oz and my rod snapped in half on the cast. so im stickin w/4oz and a fillet or chunk of mullet or something.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Mando