2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to duck hunting I have been fishing the marshes my whole life and decided to give hunting them a try. I am running out of a bay boat and am unsure about hiding it. Do I need to cover it with some kind of camo to hide it? Or can I park it away from the hunting spot? If that is the case then how far do I need to put it? Like I said above I am new to the hunting world and its all a learning experience for me so I would really appreciate the advice.

·
Hunt/Fish, Eat, Sleep, REPEAT!!
683 Posts
If I were you, I would NOT be using a bay boat to hunt the coastal tidal marsh... you are just asking to get stranded, whether it be from the tide getting too low, or your engine hitting something under the water!

But to answer your question, YES, concealment is key when duck hunting! The less the birds see that is out of the ordinary, the better!

·
Banned
173 Posts
First, welcome to the hunting world. I hope you get as addicted to the sport as most of us here. To answer your question, I don't feel that you need to cover the boat if it's parked far enough away. The exact distance.....I think that's up to you. I think the further away the better but I to have shot ducks with the boat parked close. As for running a bay boat...I don't see a problem with it if you know the waters that you are hunting. SW is correct though if you don't know the waters the tide could be a problem for you. I personal run an airboat most of the time I'm hunting because of the areas I like to hunt. But this past weekend the tides were so high I took the bay boat to the same area that would normally require the airboat. Sorry about the long winded answer. The key is to know the water that your hunting. Good Luck and stick with it.

·
Registered
4,879 Posts