2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Tabula Rasa
11,845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not much help on the DIY forum so asking here. I'm going to do a stone veneer or slate tile design (4"x4" tiles) on a wall in the kitchen. It seperates the kitchen from the living room and will be mostly the arches and columns. I think it will look really good as an accent wall in the kitchen. Does anyone know if I can apply the thinset directly to the painted wall or will I need to put up some type of lathe on the wall first for better adhesiveness. Here is a picture of what I may do (not including the glass insert) I like this multi color slate tile set on a diagonal. Thanks for any input:

Attachments

·
swifty
3,234 Posts
I'll preface this with I'm NOT a pro but refuse to pay someone to put up tile...

Do not put up thinset on a sheetrock wall and expect it to stay too long. I've never done this but have always been told not to do so.

What I did in our bathroom walls - took the sheetrock down and put hardi-backer up, thinset, tile, grout. Sounds like a PIA but do it right the first time.

swifty

·
The older I get, the better I was.
2,830 Posts
Not a pro here either, but I would not apply it directly to a painted wall. What I did was put the Hardibacker on the sheet rock and screwed it down very well. Make sure you hit the studs. Threw the tile on the wall with liquid nails and then grouted the tiles. Granted, I was doing a back splash behind the stove. With the raised surface the Hardibacker and tile created on the wall I put some trim pieces to cover the edges. It has held up nicely for a couple of years now.:biggrin:

·
Reel Easy
2,676 Posts
If it's not a wet area you could just put the tile on plywood that is screwed over the sheetrock.

Hardibacker is for setting tile in a wet area.

·
Tiny is Gone... Hi, My Name is ROGER
5,886 Posts