2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Old School
28,538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About 3 weeks ago I couldnt find the "M" on my dial let alone know what to do in anything but automode. I tried reading books but my attention span is pretty short. So I just started shooting and trying different settings to see what happens. To my untrained eye, these look ok but seems a little thin.

Suggestions welcomed.

BTW, these are untouched besides re-sizing them. I want to learn how to take photos before learning computer touch ups.

Attachments

·
Galbayfisher
624 Posts
First of all, if you are in manual (M), I assume you also have an internal exposure meter with some indicator that tells you that the picture is at the correct exposure, that is per aperture, shutter speed based on your iso.

Depth of field and focus touch on a photograper's idea of composition and what he feels is important or what he would like others to SEE in his shot. One uses the aperture to do that. You might think of your eyes and eyelids as a natural aperture.
HINT: If you're squinting, are you letting more light into your eyes than before and by squinting, do objects become more in focus or not?

So, let's say in shot number 3, you wanted to stress the importance of that shock absorber(?) there in the front. I would first zoom in on the SA until I had it in focus. Second, open up the aperture until you get the desired amount of blur in the background leaving the SA in focus. Now, I am assuming that your camera has a depth of field preview which will allow you to see this. No matter.