2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 142 Posts

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was looking through the Houston Chronicle classified yesterday and saw a lease member ship for $13,500.00 per member for a South Texas Golden triangle Ranch! I am thinking I will soon not be able to deer hunt in Texas in the near future.....

·
Banned
906 Posts
Yeah it's getting pretty out of hand with all these high fence ranches. It really gives me a bad attutude towards it all. Some idiot who has a ton of money and never hunted can just up and say, " hey, I think I would like to shoot a huge deer." Then he can go pay 20k + and kill a bigger deer than I have ever had a chance at and I have been hunting for 20+ years. Thats why I stay on my low fence lease and strictly bow hunt. I get more satisfaction out of that style of hunting and taking an average deer opposed to the high fence thing. Just my 2 cents. I guess you can sense a little frustration on my part. :)

·
Registered
78 Posts
With the cost of a prime lease getting outragous it won't be long and it will be a rich mans sport just like it is in Europe.Then they wonder why the interest in hunting has dropped off the last 10-15 years.By pricing the regular man out of hunting they are helping the antis.You have to respect the man who works hard to be able to pay for the opportunity to take his kids hunting and fishing so they grow up with a love for the outdoors.The way its going now imagine what it will cost when our kids are older..

·
Aggiewes
116 Posts
If it keeps rising as you say and becomes a rich man only sport (who knows), there will be an economic struggle for those manufacturers whose target audience is not the rich... This will be interesting (and sad) to watch.

·
Too far from the ocean ...
2,504 Posts