2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Banned
4,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We got a cat for the girls not too long ago. It's a little over a year old, and is a neat cat, but it still has all it's claws. He has clawed up some of the furniture a little bit, and has scratched two of the girls so far while playing. Our neighbor has an older cat that was declawed some time ago, front claws only. So now the wife wants to do this to our cat. Is this a normal, harmless procedure? To me, it seems somewhat cruel. But I'm no cat expert. BTW, the cat stays indoors for the most part.

·
Its easy to grin when your ship comes in
5,918 Posts
It is kind of cruel. You pretty much render the cat defenseless. If it is an inside cat only, it should be okay. If that cat goes outside even a little bit, leave the claws in.

·
Premium Member
40,471 Posts
We had one declawed, never bothered him one bit. He would still act like he was scratching..but nothing got tore up. If you have it done, don't let him/her outside..no way to defend itself.
txranger said:
We got a cat for the girls not too long ago. It's a little over a year old, and is a neat cat, but it still has all it's claws. He has clawed up some of the furniture a little bit, and has scratched two of the girls so far while playing. Our neighbor has an older cat that was declawed some time ago, front claws only. So now the wife wants to do this to our cat. Is this a normal, harmless procedure? To me, it seems somewhat cruel. But I'm no cat expert.

·
Just Happy to Be Here!
4,188 Posts
I personally wouldn't own a cat that wasn't declawed, front paws only. It will make your life so much easier in the long run. Just make sure they stay indoors only.

When I had mine done (years ago) they sedated them, and glued vs. stitches, so no need for a return visit.