2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it just me or do the crab traps in Jones seem to be multiplying.I was fortunate enough to get to untangle another one from my prop this weekend.I have been running that area for almost 20 years and have never seen anything like it.Most of them aren't tagged either.Does anyone know the law on this because I am ready to start my own clean-up crew,at this rate we can't wait till March when TPW comes to help.

·
Registered
3,932 Posts
I absolutely HATE crab traps. It is OBVIOUS that game wardens are not even making an attempt to police them, and I'm sick of it. I have had reefs and flats rendered unfishable by the dang things, and I have lost good fish to them, and that's not to mention the navigational hazards they present. And what about the floats that are half deteriorated and brown or green, with no white showing whatsoever, but are still tagged and actively run? They should be confiscated and ticketed regularly.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks MsAddicted I didn't see that one before.Got any ideas? Seems as though alot of the traps are untagged.

·
Registered
3,592 Posts
I am wondering if we just start picking them up...who is going to say anything? We did nab a couple of the worst unmarked ones last fall before we realized it was not legal.

We werent able to participate in the cleanup this year because we were both working which is a bummer. We had several in Jones that were "on our list". But realistically...who is going to notice or say anything? I mean, what are the chances of actually getting in trouble for picking them up with Jones being kind of out of sight the way it is? Sure it is regularly crabbed by the crab guy(s) but obviously they arent dealing with the unmarked ones either.

·
Dickinson
2,530 Posts
Tons of crab traps in Dickinson Bayou/Bay also. Isn't there a limit to how many crab traps a person can run?

·
Registered