2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apologize if this discussion has already occurred.

What are everyone's thoughts regarding cats vs. monohulls? My partners and I are looking to upgrade our offshore rig and trying to determine which way to go. We currently fish a 26' center console monohull.

There are many differing opinions and we want to make sure we've thought everything through.

Thanks
Brian

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
I keep hearing cat for our choppy Gulf. I'm interested in both a great ride...and fuel economy, so I'm studying the cats. I would like to learn more about the Australian designed cats....aluminum built cats....there's so much out there.

·
Registered
30,257 Posts
Gravois Aluminum Boats

Address:

6816 E Admiral Doyle Dr
Jeanerette, LA
70544-6510
Phone: (337) 364-0777

They make a great Cat boat in aluminum that I have fished out of Grand Isle before.

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
Before we got our big boat we fished a 25' seacat with 150 suzukis. Tons of room and the ride was amazing. Four footers were like two footers a same size grady white that i have fished out of. It does take some time to get used to how it handles when it turns (doesnt lean into a corner like a mono) but handles ten times as good when parking or in tight spaces due to the motors being so wide apart. We also had a 350 to four hundred mile range with two hundred gallons of gas. If i were to get a boat in the 25 to 35 range there would be no question what i would get.

·
Salty Dawg
7,701 Posts
Each have there pros and cons. I ended up going with the mono because of the speed and efficiency. I still have a good ride but not like a cat. I like being able to cruse at 40 and cats just can't do that. Cats aren't really that efficient either.

·
Registered
2,229 Posts