2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently incorporated CA as the finish for all my pens. I am new at both penturning and CA Glue. I have been using the thin Titebond CA Glue. I first get my pen the way I like it and then apply a coating of CA GLue as the lathe spins at low rpms. My problem is an applicator. I have been using Q-tips to apply the Glue. The thin sets up so quick that you have to work fast.

From here on out is where I tend to find the hardest part of sanding and getting that perfect finish. I have done an Antler and two woods with this finish. They were all beautiful, but man it was work from the time you apply CA. Is practice what I need? Is there a better way to do this type of finish?

Thanks to all.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I know a another knife maker who does the CA glue finsh on some of his handles. He adds a few layers of ca and the with his finder adds be bonder and evens out the glue. He lets it dry the sands to a 12 grit. I havn't tried it yet so experiment on a junk piece first.

·
Registered
17,210 Posts
I use a paper towel with the lathe spinning. Get you some nitrile latex gloves. The CA don't stick to it as bad

Here is a good video

·
El Viejo
23,413 Posts
I use a tip I found on the 'net.. Save those little baggies that pen parts come in. Take one of the little ones and stick a finger in it...dab a little CA on the baggie and apply like you said at low RPM.. CA don't seem to soak thru the baggie... just .02

edit...Oh...and I use the thick CA...

·
Registered
17,210 Posts
I use a tip I found on the 'net.. Save those little baggies that pen parts come in. Take one of the little ones and stick a finger in it...dab a little CA on the baggie and apply like you said at low RPM.. CA don't seem to soak thru the baggie... just .02

edit...Oh...and I use the thick CA...
I had forgot about the baggie thing. Man I need to get my shop going instead of working on the house.:rotfl: