2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Texas Aggie Fisherman
2,990 Posts
They're the same species........ a "bull red" is a big redfish. I call anything over about 35" a "bull red". A "slot red" is 20"-28", and a "rat red" is under 20".

·
Texas Aggie Fisherman
2,990 Posts
the big reds (bull reds) are the females. i am no expert, but i think the males top out at about 35". It's only the females that get HUGE.

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
I told my wife to think of it the same way she would people....she finally got it and I almost lost my casting arm... :) Sorry guys -I'm landlocked at work today....

·
Registered
1,509 Posts
All the Bulls you catch are females , males get about 28" and thats it.
They usally leave the bays for good when they get 30 " and then its surf zone and offshore living

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
HonkyFin said:
All the Bulls you catch are females , males get about 28" and thats it.
They usally leave the bays for good when they get 30 " and then its surf zone and offshore living
Not according to the column written about bull reds by Chester Moore in the latest issue of TF&G. I thought the same thing til I read the article. Some of the bulls are males, but the really big ones (40+) are the females.

·
Registered
726 Posts
"Rat red" up to 20 inches.
"Slot red" 20 to 28 inches. Sometimes called a "keep" or "keeper".
"Bull red" anything over 28 inches.
Males do get large(40inch+). They are usually much slimmer than the females.

·
Hardhead slayer
232 Posts
It takes a redfish 3 years to reach sexual maturity, and coincidentally (actually, due to the excellent work by fisheries managers working for TPWD) a redfish reaches a length of around 28" by the time they are 3 years old. In fact, after 2 years, most reds are about 20" long. So the "slot" reds are juveniles in their 3rd year of life, who haven't reached sexual maturity.