2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Parrothead
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone,
I am very new to blue water fishing and am trying to get gear together for future trips. I have several rods but my main one is a custom 6ft boat rod built on a Seeker blank. I have it paired with a Penn Senator 6/0 with 50# mono and 50# Power Pro. I am going to add about 50 to 75 yards of 80# topshot. Should have about 650 yards total on the reel.

My question is this: if you were going to build a tackle box to catch a variety of fish in a variety of conditions, using the above rod, what tackel would you consider essential? What hooks and lures for various fish?

I know this is a very broad question, but I have to start somewhere. All suggestions would be appreciated. Also, if you could provide a picture of a specific lure or a link to a site to buy it that would REALLY be helpful.

Thanks again,
John

·
Old ******
4,527 Posts
From the look of it you are going to pursue some big fish using the 50 class tackle. That's either deep bottom fishing stuff or big pelagics. Let us know which and you'll get a lot of advice.
Cheers

·
Academy Sports & Outdoors Manager
1,249 Posts
Hey JCasisa, Your combo would be a bit heavy for jigging but good for trolling and deep drops. Let us know as Team Sponge asked what type of fishing you want to do and we will help you out.

·
Registered
949 Posts
For jigging for snapper and amberjacks I'd get a couple of snapper slappers, some BIG curly plastic grub worms with 3-4 ounce glow in the dark jig heads. Also pick up a few diamond jigs for jigging. The 6/0 is a little heavy for jigging but it'd work. As long as you have the strenght to hold it. I can jig all day with a Penn International 30W.