2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Charter Member
6,663 Posts
I have been pierfishing since 1949. I have fished on piers ranging in quality form the kind that would shake and feel like it was about to fall in the water if a cat walked on it. No lights, no running water, no cleaning/bait stations, not even any trash cans. And forget about a store of any kind that might sell bait, tackle, food or drink. Then again I have fished on the Galveston Fishing Pier (pictured here) and pretty much every thing in between.

There are a couple of good piers in Corpus but for overall quality of the structure itself, amenities, the water it is over and the number/kinds of fish to be caught there, my considered opinion is that the Galveston Fishing Pier is far and away the very best fishing pier that I know of anywhere.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
I also have pier fished most of my life. My favorite is the Walter Humphrey pier on Pleasure Island in Port Arthur.

·
15,098 Posts
Txfirenfish said:
I also have pier fished most of my life. My favorite is the Walter Humphrey pier on Pleasure Island in Port Arthur.
Is the bull red action pretty good on there in the fall.

·
Dickinson
2,530 Posts
It's not there any more, but I really enjoyed fishing at Sam's Pier on Surfside. Rickety, no amenities and the owner was a real Axxxxxx, but you could catch the heck out of fish.

·
Registered
6,848 Posts
San Luis Pass - Bull Reds, Trout, etc.

Pier at Park in Port A (pice from tx16 gathering) - Flounder

Dozens of motel piers used to be some of the best (and least expensive) trout fishing under the lights at night since I started fishing saltwater around 1963.

Brings back many great memories. CF?

Attachments

529 Posts
HAnds down its the Flagship pier ! Where else can you park and get out and fish ! Only walking is if you want to fish the T-head....guess i'm lazy...lol....pssst it's on my avatar!

·
yakfisher
805 Posts