2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two weeks ago my son took my boat offshore. Only rules I have is that it comes back with more gas than it left with and it also comes back cleaner. He called me a few miles out claiming the engine was not very powerful.

Since then I've been trying to figure out why the 2000 150 caburated Yamaha has lost 20% of its power. The boy said it was fine, but started performing poorly once they got about 5 miles out.

I'm a fair mechanic and have found several potential problems; bad spark plug, corroded connection to a coil, silted gas filter, and full water filter. I've gone over air, spark, and fuel systems several times. The I asked the boy what type of gas they used. He said Citgo. "Oh tell me you didn't," I replied. The only gas worse for a 2 cycle engine than Texaco is Citgo. At least that's what I heard about Citgo and have personal experience with what Texaco would do before they merged with Chevron (Techron).

So now I had a theroy that it was a problem with the gas. I've heard some companies are putting high percentage of alcohol in the gas. After 5 years of hard running I had my carburators cleaned earlier in the year. Could the carbs be gummed up this quickly?

So thats the question. Has anybody been experiencing problems with the new gas formulations? I tried some gas treatment (Sea Foam) yesterday to no avail. The engine is idling like new but after a 30 mile run with the magic juice still is low on power.

I've only been to the mechanic 4 times in my 45 years and 3 of those were because I was too lazy to do the job myself. Looks like I'm going back. But before I do that, I want to ensure others are not experiencing something similar with the pressures to cut gas with alcohol.

·
Registered
238 Posts