2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still learning to age/score deer. Please give me some feedback on these pics. My guess is 3.5 yrs and maybe 130 on the first few pics. Am i in the ball park? Also this is the first hog we have seen in 5 years...any guesses what he might weigh? Thanks to everyone for their feedback.

Attachments

·
Pirate Looking At 40
611 Posts
I think you are right on the mark , I was thinking the same or atleast high 120s and 3.5 is as good a guess as I would make . Great deer , I am a sucker for tall racks as for my guess on the hog? "Big & Stincky" ....

Thanks for the picks

·
Registered
462 Posts
I'm in with flash...if it's only 8pts I don't see it getting out of the 120's and would guess probably the low 120's at that. If you're in a place with good management opportunites, I'd let him pass another couple of years. If you're in a small place where good management isn't likely then I'd have a hard time not hitting him.

The pig is a pretty good sized one. I'd guess around 250lbs. It's always hard to judge a pig if you haven't recently shot one and had it weighed. Still, I'd place in it the 250lb range +/- 50lbs. I'd get her out of there ASAP though or you'll have plenty of experience in judging pigs in no time.

TFM

·
Trap AF ...
4,992 Posts
Your right on the money on the score, he'll hit the 125" mark with little difficulty, but don't be fooled ... that buck in the first few photos has seen and passed 3.5.

Shoot him ... he's a good buck to take and probably not going to add another 15 inches next year.

·
Registered
441 Posts
Spec-Rig.006 said:
Your right on the money on the score, he'll hit the 125" mark with little difficulty, but don't be fooled ... that buck in the first few photos has seen and passed 3.5.

Shoot him ... he's a good buck to take and probably not going to add another 15 inches next year.